The Abbey Theatre

The Abbey Theatre is Ireland’s national theatre. It was founded by W.B. Yeats and Lady Augusta Gregory. Since it first opened its doors in 1904 the theatre has played a vital and often controversial role in the literary, social and cultural life of Ireland.

In 1905, the Abbey Theatre first toured internationally and continues to be an ambassador for Irish arts and culture worldwide. The Abbey Theatre produces an annual programme of diverse, engaging, innovative Irish and international theatre and invests in and promotes new Irish writers and artists.

We do this by placing the writer and theatre-maker at the heart of all that we do, commissioning and producing exciting new work and creating discourse and debate on the political, cultural and social issues of the day. Our aim is to present great theatre in a national context so that the stories told on stage have a resonance with artists and audiences alike.

Over the years, the Abbey Theatre has nurtured and premiered the work of major playwrights such as J.M. Synge and Sean O’Casey as well as contemporary classics from Sebastian Barry, Marina Carr, Bernard Farrell, Brian Friel, Thomas Kilroy, Frank McGuinness, Tom MacIntyre, Tom Murphy, Owen McCafferty, Mark O’Rowe and Billy Roche.

We support a new generation of Irish writers at the Abbey Theatre including Richard Dormer, Gary Duggan, Shaun Dunne, Stacey Gregg, David Ireland, Jimmy McAleavey, Owen McCafferty, Elaine Murphy, Nancy Harris, Michael West and Carmel Winters.

None of this can happen without our audiences and our supporters. Annie Horniman provided crucial financial support to the Abbey in its first years. Many others have followed her lead by investing in and supporting our work.

Special thanks to our 2016 Season partners and funders, and to Loretta Brennan Glucksman, Honorary Chair of our North American touring in 2016.

We also gratefully acknowledge the financial support of the Arts Council of Ireland.

For more information visit

Search form