Event gallery: Futurity: A Musical by The Lisps
Event gallery: Futurity: A Musical by The Lisps

Futurity: A Musical by The Lisps

  • March 16, 2012 – April 15, 2012


  • Run Time: 100 Minutes with no intermission

Doors Open 7PM


From $25

Learn more:

This event has passed

In this Civil War sci-fi musical, the Union soldier Julian Munro and the brilliant mathematician Ada Lovelace transcend time to invent an omnipotent steam-powered brain. Blending American indie-folk music with dreams of invention, FUTURITY explores a world where utopia seems within reach.

Read the FUTURITY Educational Toolkit!

Notable dates

Recommended for ages 14+; Under 18 must be accompanied by a guardian or attend with permission of a guardian.

In celebration of the relaunch of the Harvard Square Business Association’s Square Deals, Temple Bar has generously agreed to donate 5% of all proceeds from their Square Deal to A.R.T.! Check out the offer here and grab it while it is still available, and help support A.R.T. and the HSBA

Performance Sponsors:
Newbury Comics



Creative team

Music by

Cesar Alvarez with The Lisps

Lyrics by

Cesar Alvarez

Lyrics by

Cesar Alvarez

New York-based composer, lyricist, performer, writer and saxophonist. Founding member of The Lisps. Co-founder and resident composer of L.A.-based dance company Contra-Tiempo. Recent composition credits: Damned Beautiful for Helix Dance, Edinburgh Fringe; 3 2’s; or AFAR by Mac Wellman, Dixon Place; Full Still Hungry for Contra-Tiempo, Ford Amphitheater. 2004 Meet The Composer/Van Lier Fellow. Interlochen Arts Academy 1997–99. Bachelor of Music from Oberlin Conservatory. Master of Fine Arts from Bard College.

View full biography

Book by

Molly Rice and César Alvarez

Directed by

Sarah Benson

Directed by

Sarah Benson

Sarah Benson has been the Artistic Director of Soho Rep since 2007. At the A.R.T.: Futurity, Sophocles’ Ajax. New York credits include: David Adjmi’s Elective Affinities (site-specific); Gregory Moss’ Orange, Hat & Grace (Soho Rep); Polly Stenham’s That Face (Manhattan Theatre Club); Sarah Kane’s Blasted (Soho Rep) for which Benson received a Drama Desk nomination and OBIE Award. Other credits include: Gregory Moss’ House of Gold (Woolly Mammoth in Washington, D.C.). She has also worked on new plays at the O’Neill Playwrights Conference, New York Stage & Film and New Dramatists. Upcoming: World premiere of Richard Maxwell’s Samara. At Soho Rep, Benson has commissioned and produced work by artists including David Adjmi, Annie Baker, Dan LeFranc, Thomas Bradshaw, Cynthia Hopkins, Jomama Jones, Young Jean Lee, John Jesurun, Nature Theatre of Oklahoma and Anne Washburn. This work has been recognized with six OBIE Awards, three Drama Desk nominations and The New York Times Outstanding Playwriting Award. Benson moved to New York from London on a Fulbright for Theatre Direction. 

View full biography


Annie-B Parson

Production Design

Emily Orling

Set and Costume Design

David Israel Reynoso

Lighting Design

Austin R. Smith

Sound Design

Matt Tierney

Music Supervisor

César Alvarez

Music Direction

Debra Barsha

Mechanical Percussion Design

Eric Farber

Associate Director

Meghan Finn

Assistant Choreographer

Chris Giarmo

Stage Manager

Kate Ailinger

Assistant Stage Manager

Cassie M. Seinuk

Assistant Lighting Design

Heather Smaha


Annie DiMario

Dance Captain

Aaron Schroeder

Music Preparation

Aimee Czura & Balint Varga


Julian Munro

César Alvarez*

Ada Lovelace

Sammy Tunis

The General

Edwin Lee Gibson

Lady Byron

Anne Gottlieb

The Sergeant

Aaron Schroeder


Chelsey Donn

Steam Brain Engineers/Musicians

Eric Farber

Ben Simon

Lorenzo Wolff*


Carl James


Michael Kane


Milia Ayache

The Soldiers, Scientists, and Others

Matthew Christian, Liza Dickinson, Teri Gamble, Rose Hogan, Lindsey Liberatore

Futurity was developed in part through a commission from the Walker Art Center, and was developed in association with Christopher Maring and Rusty Thelin. Addition support provided by The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust.