A.R.T. Subscription Season

This production has been postponed to our 2020/21 Season.


From $25

This production has been postponed to our 2020/21 Season.

  • Tickets

    From $25

Learn more:

This event has passed

This event has been postponed to our 2020/21 Season.

They knew they would make history, but not what history would make of them. Fed up with living under the tyranny of British rule, John Adams attempts to persuade his fellow members of the Continental Congress to vote in favor of American Independence and sign the Declaration. But how much is he willing to compromise in the pursuit of freedom? And who does that freedom belong to? Terrie and Bradley Bloom Artistic Director Diane Paulus directs a new production of this Tony Award-winning musical, reexamining this pivotal moment in American history.

“I have been overwhelmed by the compassion, humanity, and unstoppable creativity expressed by our company of 1776 who have come together from across the country for our virtual workshop. Their resilience has infused me with hope for the future of theater amid this time of uncertainty.

As we embark on our journey together on this production, we find ourselves reckoning with our country’s history, reexamining the pivotal moment of our nation’s founding portrayed in 1776—the writing of the Declaration of Independence, a ‘promissory note,’ that, in Martin Luther King’s words ‘America has defaulted on.’ Our cast includes multiple representations of gender, race, and ethnicity that allow this revival of 1776 to more broadly reflect today’s America, our America.

As artists, we are embracing our American history as a human predicament and are committed to the process of learning from the past in order to move forward together.” 

– Diane Paulus, Director of 1776 / Terrie and Bradley Bloom Artistic Director

Music and Lyrics by Sherman Edwards
Book by Peter Stone
Based on a concept by Sherman Edwards
Directed by Jeffrey L. Page & Diane Paulus
Choreographed by Jeffrey L. Page

Production Sponsors of 1776
Katie and Paul Buttenwieser
The Linda Hammett Ory & Andrew Ory Charitable Trust
Allison Johnson
Serena and Bill Lese
Education and Engagement Support
Ford Foundation
Additional Production Support
Jeannie and Jonathan Lavine
Janet and Irv Plotkin
Professor Mark V. Tushnet
Additional Education and Engagement Support
Bank of America
Fresh Sound Foundation
Klarman Family Foundation
Mass Humanities
Production Support of 1776 at Roundabout Theatre Company
Elizabeth Armstrong

Want to Learn More?

Stay in touch with A.R.T. for more information about the revival of 1776.

Sign Up for Our Mailing List

Transformation 2020

1776: The Audacity to Exist

SEP 25 12:30PM

Co-Directors Jeffrey Page and Diane Paulus in collaboration with Projection Designer David Bengali create a multimedia experience with performances of songs from the A.R.T.’s upcoming production of the Tony Award-winning musical 1776. These songs are interwoven into a dynamic discussion with Harvard University historians Vincent Brown and Timothy Patrick McCarthy and members of the cast and creative team. This event explores representation, writing ourselves into existence, and what the year 1776 and the Declaration of Independence mean for our country today as we reckon with the past in order to understand our present moment and move forward together.

This virtual experience will be part of Transformation 2020: Popular Democracy Defined, the Center for Popular Democracy’s three-day livestream conference (September 24 – 26) bringing together artists, community organizers, and elected officials. Featuring an array of interactive programming, Transformation 2020 will explore how a popular democracy can transform our economy, government and communities; challenge dominant narratives; and introduce transformative ways of seeing the world.

1776: The Audacity to Exist features cast members Allison Blackwell, Allyson Kaye Daniel, Crystal Lucas-Perry, Liz Mikel, Patrena Murray, Oneika Phillips, Brooke Simpson, and Sav Souza, as well as creative team members AnnMarie Milazzo, Brisa Areli Muñoz, and Jeffrey Page. Transformation 2020 will also feature presentations by Harvard scholars from last spring’s 1776 Salons. Additional programming includes workshops led by Jagged Little Pill cast members Kathryn Gallagher, Celia Rose Gooding, and Lauren Patten. All of the arts and culture programming for Transformation 2020 is being curated and produced by Level Forward.

Register for Transformation 2020


Transformation 2020 will engage delegations of young activists from across the country. A.R.T. is assembling local youth, leaders, and educators to participate together in the event as a part of the Massachusetts Delegation, which includes free registration for young people ages 16 – 23.

Sign Up for the Delegation


Creative Team

Music and lyrics by

Sherman Edwards

Book by

Peter Stone

Based on a concept by

Sherman Edwards


Jeffrey L. Page & Diane Paulus


Jeffrey L. Page

Scenic Design

Scott Pask

Costume Design

Emilio Sosa

Lighting Design

Jennifer Schriever

Sound Design

Jonathan Deans

Projection Design

David Bengali


Stephen Kopel

Music Supervision

David Chase


John Clancy

Vocal Design

AnnMarie Milazzo

Co-Music Direction

Nadia Digiallonardo

Ryan Cantwell

Music Consultant

Nadia Digiallonardo


George Read

Nancy Anderson

Col. Thomas McKean

Becca Ayers

Custodian Andrew McNair

Tiffani Barbour

Robert Livingston

Allison Blackwell

Judge James Wilson

Hannah Cruz

Abigail Adams/​Rev. Jonathan Witherspoon

Allyson Kaye Daniel

Thomas Jefferson

Elizabeth A. Davis

Charles Thomson

Mehry Eslaminia

Stephen Hopkins

Joanna Glushak

Richard Henry Lee

Shawna Hamic

Martha Jefferson/​Dr. Lyman Hall

Eryn LeCroy

John Adams

Crystal Lucas-Perry

John Hancock

Liz Mikel

Benjamin Franklin

Patrena Murray

John Dickinson

Kerry O’Malley

Joseph Hewes

Oneika Phillips

Samuel Chase

Lulu Picart

Edward Rutledge

Sara Porkalob

Roger Sherman

Brooke Simpson


Salome Smith

Dr. Josiah Bartlett

Sav Souza


Grace Stockdale

Caesar Rodney

Jill Vallery


Imani Pearl Williams

Stage Management

Sharika Niles

Genevieve Kersh

John Meredith